Pillaiyar Nonbu 2009 Meeting Minutes

Dear Nagarathars

The function was held at Norton Canes Community Centre, Cannock, between 5 and 11pm.

It commenced with Irai vanakkam by Karthik Kumar. The President, Mr Ramanathan welcomed the huge gathering and briefly spoke about Pillaiya Nonbu. He then provided an update on the successful caravan trip to Norfolk in August 2009.


This was organised by Mathi and Bamah for three nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. Great fun was had by nineteen adults and eight children. We made a surplus amount of £105 through this trip and this was donated to our Sangam.

The President read out a list of apologies from members who could not join us because of prior commitments on Christmas and Boxing days. They are as follows:

  • Drs Venkat (Sutton Coldfield)
  • Dr & Mrs Shanmugam
  • Dr & Mrs Yegappan
  • Dr & Mrs Kalairajah
  • Mr & Mrs Narayanan
  • Dr & Mrs Palaniappan (Hemel Hampstead)
  • Mr & Mrs Manickam (Croydon)
  • Mrs S Thiagarajan (Clevelys)
  • Dr & Mrs Manickam (Bexleyheath)
  • Mr & Mrs Meyappan (Cheltenham)
  • Mr & Mrs Meyappan (London)
  • Dr & Mrs Thiagarajan (Oldfield)
  • Dr & Mrs Kannan
  • Mr & Mrs Kathiresan
  • Mrs Meena Annamalai
  • Dr & Mrs Nachiappan (Stoke)
  • Mr & Mrs N Shanmugam (Eastbourne)
  • Mr & Mrs N Kumarappan (Bexley Park)
  • Mr & Mrs Valliappan (Surbiton)

In spite of the non-attendance by the above members, the number of Illais taken this year exceeded that of previous years. This was solely due to many new nagarathars who joined us this year. The President requested, as is customary, the new guests to introduce themselves. After the introductions, Sachin, Dharmarajan, Manisha, Janani, Kishen, Nachammai and Abhinay showcased their singing talent and entertained the audience.

The Treasurer, Dr Sundaram Manian provided an update of the Accounts and confirmed that the current balance was £8,500. He also mentioned that many members are yet to set up standing orders for their annual membership fee and made a plea, requesting members to do so as soon as possible. The Secretary confirmed that the Sangam had made three marriage donations and one education support donation in the past year.

It was also proposed in the meeting that a sub-committee should oversee marriage and education donations going forward, therefore a “Charity” sub-committee was formed. Dr Vairavan, Dr Unnamalai Letchmanan and Mr Thenappan volunteered to be members.

Dr Selvam, Dr Subbiah and Mr Thenappan sang Lord Ganesha prayer songs and then

Sri. VE. Palaniappa Chettiar distributed the Ilais to all nagarathars. This year was a record, with 143 Illais taken (the highest number in the Sangam’s history).

Following the Ilai Eduthal, we all enjoyed the various, delicious palagarams prepared by the Aachimars. Next year’s palagaram lottery was then undertaken by Keerthi and Bamah.

The new Secretaries, Sundar and Keerthi Kumarappan were then introduced by the President. Sundar made a short speech and thanked, on behalf of the Sangam the outgoing Secretaries, Mathi and Bamah. He also proposed to hold the next Tamil New Year meeting on 17th April 2010 in Leicester, which was unanimously aggreed.

The final item was the vote of thanks. Mathi thanked Dr Selvam for organising and booking the venue, Anand Veerappan for maintaining the website and many others who helped them in organising the Pillaiyarnombu meeting. Dr Sivalingam thanked Mathi and Bamah on behalf of all the members for successfully conducting their term of office during 2009.

Kind regards

Mathi and Bamah